

Churchill County
Elko County
Esmeralda County
Eureka County
Humboldt County
Lander County
Lincoln County
Lyon County
Mineral County
Nye county
Pershing County
Storey County
White Pine County

# INVASIVE BODY DECORATION GUIDE

In December 2017, the Nevada Legislature passed a bill to regulate invasive body decoration facilities. The regulations are for static locations, temporary events, and mobile facilities.



#### **This Guide Covers**

Operations
Equipment
Construction
Mobile Vehicles
Temporary Events

**◊** 

What IS Invasive Body Decoration

**Tattoo** 

**Body Piercing** 

Permanent Cosmetics

Extreme Body Modification

#### CONTACT

NEVADA DIVISION OF PUBLIC AND BEHAVIORAL HEALTH

ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH
SECTION

Website <a href="https://www.dpbh.nv.gov">https://www.dpbh.nv.gov</a>

**Email** 

EHSCUSTOMERSERVICE@HEALTH.NV.GOV

#### **Purpose**

This document is intended to assist individuals or groups in submitting for Invasive Body Decoration establishments. Construction, equipment, and operational standards outlined in this guide are the minimum requirements per Nevada regulation.

A health permit is valid for one year and not transferable from one invasive body decoration location, mobile unit, or person to another.

# WHAT IS <u>NOT</u> COVERED UNDER THESE REGULATIONS

Esthetician
Barbering
Laser or chemical tattoo removal
Micro-needling
Cryotherapy
Ultrasonic cavitation

#### **REGULATIONS**

Can be located at the Nevada Law Library See Sections: NAC 444.00701 to NAC 444.00939

Topics:

Permitting and General Requirements for Operation

Training and Personal Hygiene Requirements

Maintenance of Facilities, Equipment, and Supplies

Enforcement

#### LICENSING SYSTEM

#### **On-line Application system**

https://nvdpbh.aithent.com/login.aspx

A written application must be submitted at least 30 days in advance.

If you cannot use the system a paper application will be accepted at a field office or by mail.

# LOCAL HEALTH AUTHORITIES

Information on becoming a licensed IBD Operator in the rural counties of Nevada.

This guide does not apply to residents of Carson City, Douglas County, Washoe County and Clark County. Residents of these areas should contact:



Carson City & Douglas County 775-887-2190

www.gethealthycarsoncity.org



Washoe County Health District 775-328-2400

www.washoecounty.us/health



**Southern Nevada Health District** 702-759-0588

www.southernnevadahealthdistrict.org

#### **SCHEDULE OF FEES**

#### **Annual Permits**

- Permit \$290.00
- Late Fee \$50.00

#### Mobile IBD Vehicles

- Per Event \$100.00
- Late Fee \$50.00

#### **Temporary Events**

- Per Event \$100.00
- Late Fee \$50.00

#### **Temporary Event Coordinator**

- Per Event \$125.00
- Late Fee \$50.00

#### Plan Review

Review of floor plans \$165.00

## **EXEMPTIONS**

A person performing an invasive body decoration procedure at an establishment must comply with all regulations regarding the procedures provided.

#### Exemptions may be provided to the following:

- Establishments that only perform piercing of the earlobes with single-use, pre-sterilized, stud-inclasp ear piercing system ("piercing gun") which is in compliance with the manufacturer's directions and all applicable requirements of the US Food & Drug Administration must apply for an exemption. Exempt establishments must still use jewelry appropriate for initial piercings.
- Medical professionals working within the scope of their practice at their place of work are exempt from these regulations and permit requirements

#### Exemption Fee \$70.00

The health authority retains the right to respond to complaints against exempt establishments and to periodically check for compliance.

#### **INSPECTIONS**

# Ensure you have these items at each inspection

# A written Infection Control Plan, which is reviewed annually. Which includes:

- Standard Operating Procedures
- Cleaning And Disinfection
- Procedures for reusable equipment
- Protection of clean or sterile equipment
- Set up and tear-down procedures
- Cross-contamination Prevention
- Sharps Disposal and Waste Disposal
- List of records to be maintained

#### Records and Logs Required

- A list of all operators who worked in the establishment (2 years)
  - o Hepatitis B Vaccination record
  - o Log of procedures performed
- Aftercare Instructions
- Bloodborne Pathogen Training
- Client Release Forms (2 Years)
- Records of single-use/pre-sterilized instruments (if used) (90-days)
- Sterilization/autoclave records (if used) (2 Years)
- Log of each procedure
- Visibly Posted Permit

## Extreme Body Modification procedures performed under the supervision of a doctor

- List the medical professional who performed or supervised the procedure
- Licensure information
- Insurance Coverage
- Checklist: procedure, date, time

## **IMPORTANT**

This document contains some information about the rules for the construction and operation of Invasive Body Decoration Establishments, it does not contain all the requirements for your business.

#### **PLAN REVIEW**

Plans must be submitted at least 30 days before beginning construction, extensive remodeling, or conversion of an existing structure to an invasive body decoration establishment.

## The floor plan should include:

- All proposed workstations and procedure areas
- The proposed sterilization room
- All proposed handwashing sinks and restrooms
- The proposed waiting area and break area, which is separate from procedure areas
- The location of all proposed floors, walls, and light fixtures;
   and
- Storage location for equipment, supplies, towels, and linens (Clean vs. Dirty locations)
- All proposed finish materials.
- Equipment specification sheets

#### **Sterilization Room**

- Be separated by a door or other enclosure from procedure area
- Be properly identified with signs that include the universal symbol for biohazard waste and secured to prevent unauthorized persons
- Be equipped with at least one two-compartment sink with hot and cold running water
- The sterilization room must have distinct, separate areas for the cleaning of equipment, the wrapping and packaging of equipment, and the handling and storage of sterilized equipment.

## **Construction Requirements**

An invasive body decoration establishment must have:

- Workstations must have 45 square feet of floor space.
- At least one stand-alone handwashing sink for every four workstations. Each with soap, hot water and paper towels
  - Bathroom sinks are not included in the count
  - o Portable sinks will be considered on a case-by-case basis
  - o Equipment sinks, hand sinks and utility sinks must only be used for its designated purpose
- Ability to provide privacy for all clients
- IBD procedures must be separated from other activities
- Well ventilated areas
- Floors, walls, and ceiling must be smooth and cleanable
- Furniture, shelves, cabinets, counters, and trays are to be nonabsorbent, smooth, and cleanable
- Sharps containers within reach of the operator
- Lighting should be at least 50 foot-candles. There is an app for that.
- At least one covered waste receptacle must be available for contaminated waste products
- Doors must be tight-fitting
- Water must be from an approved source
- Sewage must be disposed of through sanitary sewer.
- Chemicals should be stored by manufacturer's instructions
- Non-medical waste should be in a closed receptacle
- Medical waste must be stored in a secured area, that is locked and under supervision to prevent unauthorized access
  - In English: "Caution Biohazardous waste storage area - Unauthorized persons keep out"
  - In Spanish: "Cuidado Zona de residuous infectados -Prohibida la entrado a personas o autorizada"

# All sharps waste must be removed and disposed of by:

- A registered medical waste transporter or an approved sharps mail-back system.
- An approved alternative treatment technology method and disposed of as solid waste.



No animals shall be allowed in the procedure area or the decontamination and sterilization areas



#### 18 Years or Older

Check to see if the client is 18 years or older. An invasive body decoration establishment must not perform an invasive body decoration procedure on a client who is less than 18 years of age without the express in-person consent of a custodial parent or legal guardian. A parent or legal guardian who consents to an invasive body decoration procedure on behalf of a client must show proof of custody or guardianship in the form of a certified birth certificate, court order granting custody guardianship or other satisfactory documentation, a copy of which must be retained by the establishment.

This does not apply to an emancipated minor who presents to the invasive body decoration establishment a certified copy of the decree of emancipation issued to the minor pursuant to NRS 129.080 to 129.140, inclusive.

#### **CLIENT RELEASE FORM**

#### SHOULD INCLUDE THE FOLLOWING

#### **Operator Information**

- Full legal name of artist
- Description of procedure
- Location on the body
- Type of procedure
- Explanations of permanency
- Date procedure performed

#### Client Information

- Full legal name of the client
- Date of Birth
- Mailing or physical address
- Telephone number
- Copy of identification, with photo
- Copy of legal guardian, if required
- Signature of the client
- Signature of the guardian, if required

# AFTER CARE INSTRUCTIONS

Written aftercare instructions regarding the proper care of the invasive body decoration must be provided to each client following the invasive body decoration procedure. Aftercare instructions must include the following items:

NAME OF THE FACILITY
ADDRESS OF THE FACILITY
PHONE NUMBER OF THE FACILITY

# TATTOO AFTER CARE INSTRUCTIONS

NAME OF THE ARTIST WHO PERFORMED THE PROCEDURE

A DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF HOW TO CARE FOR THE AREA OF THE BODY ON WHICH THE PROCEDURE WAS PERFORMED INCLUDING A DESCRIPTION OF ANY NECESSARY CLEANING AND BANDAGING

POSSIBLE SIDE EFFECTS WHICH MAY OCCUR FROM THE PROCEDURE

DIRECTIONS ON WHEN TO CONSULT A DOCTOR OR SEEK MEDICAL CARE

SIGNS OF ALLERGIC REACTIONS OR INFECTIONS

**EXPECTED DURATION OF HEALING** 

# BLOOD BORNE PATHOGEN TRAINING



#### Training must cover

- Transmission, control, and symptoms of the diseases caused by BBP
- Tasks involved in performing body art and how those tasks may lead to exposure to BBP for the client or practitioner
- Types and uses of all personal protective equipment, including an explanation of the limitations of the equipment
- Types, proper technique, and order of tasks to be conducted before and after putting on and removing personal protective equipment to avoid contamination
- Importance of hand hygiene and demonstrate proper technique
- Types, use, and storage of disinfectants and antiseptics
- Surfaces or the procedure area during an invasive body decoration procedure
- Procedures for the safe handling and disposal of sharps and medical waste
- The records required to be maintained by the responsible person to demonstrate that the infection control plan is properly operated and managed; and
- Any additional scientific data or other information, as required by the health authority, to support the determination that the infection control plan and the operations of the establishment are sufficient to protect the public health

#### Frequency and Type

Training must be completed yearly.

Training must be specific to body art procedures.

#### **RECALL NOTICES**

# GET EMAIL NOTIFICATIONS ON INK RECALLS AND OUTBREAK INVESTIGATIONS

Get regular FDA email updates delivered on this topic to your inbox.

https://www.fda.gov/cosmetics/cosmeticsrecalls-alerts/fda-advises-consumers-tattooartists-and-retailers-avoid-using-or-sellingcertain-tattoo-inks#subscribe

The subscription option is near bottom of the page.

## INK, DYE, PIGMENT

All inks, dyes and pigments used in an invasive body decoration establishment must be commercially manufactured and not subject to any recall notice issued by the manufacturer, the United States Food and Drug Administration, the Commissioner of Food and Drugs or the health authority.

#### **JEWELRY**

Jewelry to be placed in newly pierced skin must be sterilized before piercing or must be purchased presterilized in a sealed package. Jewelry to be placed in newly pierced skin or in a healing piercing must be made of metal, alloy, plastic, glass, or other natural products.

# REUSABLE INSTRUMENTS

All reusable instruments used during an invasive body decoration procedure must be:

- Washed and scrubbed in a sink to remove debris
- 2. Disinfected
- 3. Air-dried completely before being placed in sterilization packs
- 4. Sterilized

#### **SPECIAL EVENTS**

Special event provide artists the ability to showcase their work in new locations and expand their clientele.

- State Licensed Operators
- Licensed Operators from Washoe County, Carson City, Douglas County and Clark County wishing to operate in areas under state jurisdiction are required to obtain a temporary state permit.
- Out of State Operators are required to obtain a temporary event permit for these locations.

Each operator at the event must submit a temporary permit application at least 14 days prior to the event.

The permit must be issued **before** an invasive body decoration procedure can be performed.

Multiple artists may work in each booth location and the total number allowed is dependent on the size of the booth.

# EVENT COORDINATORS PERMIT REQURIED

An Event Coordinator Permit from EHS must be obtained at least 30 days prior to the event. The coordinator is responsible for ensuring that all NAC 444 requirements are met. This includes the following:

- Provide smooth and cleanable floors
- Provide hot water hand wash stations
- Provide daily trash service
- Provide sharps containers for each booth
- Provide a description of how waste, medical waste, and sharps will be managed on-site and disposed of
- Provide a scrub sink, autoclave, and separate area if there will be any reusable metal tools
- Provide a diagram of the event layout, which should include, without limitation, the location of all procedure areas, handwashing facilities, stations, power sources, restroom facilities, waste disposal areas and cleaning and sterilization areas
- Provide the contact information and name of the artists/facilities that operate at the event

## **Booth Requirements**

An invasive body decoration establishment must have:

- Restroom facilities must be available within 200 feet from a temporary or mobile invasive body decoration establishment.
- A min. of 45 square feet of floor space for EACH Artist
  - 0 10 x 10 = 2 Artists
  - o 10 x 15 = 3 Artists
  - 0 10 x 20 = 4 Artists
  - o 10 x 30 = 6 Artists
  - IBD procedures must be separated from other activities
  - o Ability to provide privacy for all clients
- Floors, walls, and ceiling and equipment surfaces must be smooth and cleanable
- Have convenient access to handwashing facilities with pump soap, paper towels and hot and cold water under adequate pressure and tempered by a mixing valve or combination faucet
- Lighting should be at least 50-foot candles. There is an app for that
- Sharps containers within reach of the operator
- At least one covered waste receptacle must be available for contaminated waste products
- Water must be from an approved source
- Sewage must be disposed of through sanitary sewer
- Chemicals should be stored by manufacturer's instructions
- Non-medical waste should be in a closed receptacle
- Medical waste must be stored in a secured area, that is locked and under supervision to prevent unauthorized access.
  - In English: "Caution Biohazardous waste storage area - Unauthorized persons keep out"
  - In Spanish: "Cuidado Zona de residuous infectados - Prohibida la entrado a personas o autorizada"

An invasive body decoration procedure must not be performed outside of the procedure area.

#### **Equipment**

- 1. Use prepackaged and sterilized by a supplier,
- 2. Eq. packaged before the event; and only used once,
- 3. Sterilized at the event, with evidence of a negative spore test which occurred within 30 days of the event.

#### **MOBILE VEHICLES**

A permit to operate a temporary or mobile invasive body decoration establishment may only be issued by the health authority for the purposes of education, trade shows, product demonstrations, special events or celebrations.

Each operator at the event must submit a temporary permit application at least 14 days prior to the event.

The permit must be issued **before** an invasive body decoration procedure can be performed.

Multiple artists may work in each booth location and the total number allowed is dependent on the size of the vehicle; procedures may not be performed outside of the vehicle.

## **Vehicle Requirements**

- All doors must be tight-fitting.
- Windows, tight-fitting screens at least 16 mesh to the inch.
- Walls and floors must be smooth and easily cleaned.
- The water system must meet the following specifications:
  - Sufficient capacity to furnish enough hot and cold running water under pressure to accommodate the cleaning of equipment and handwashing at all times, operable at freezing temperatures
  - o From an approved water supply
  - Inlet must be capped and must be located to avoid contamination by waste discharge, road dust, oil or grease
  - o The water filler hose must:
    - Have approved vacuum breaker or check valve
    - Be of an approved material and stored with the ends connected or covered when not in use
    - Not be used for any other purpose
    - Be identified either by color coding or tagging

## Vehicle Requirements, Cont.

#### **SINK REQUIREMENTS**

The mobile establishment must be equipped with a service sink and a separate handwashing sink for the exclusive use of the invasive body decoration operator for handwashing and preparing a client for procedures.

The handwashing sink must be supplied with pump soap, hot and cold running water under pressure and tempered by a mixing valve or combination faucet and paper towels.

#### WASTEWATER REQUIREMENTS

The wastewater system in a mobile establishment must meet the following specifications:

- All liquid wastes must be stored in an adequate storage tank with a capacity of at least 15 percent more than the capacity of the onboard potable water supply
- The bottom of the storage tank must be sloped to drain
- Liquid waste must be retained in the mobile establishment until emptied and flushed into an approved dump station, in a manner approved by the health authority
- The contents of the storage tank must be gauged; and
- The storage tank must not have an outlet for overflow

#### **SEWAGE REQUIREMENTS**

The service connections in a mobile establishment must meet the following specifications:

- All connections on the vehicle used for servicing the waste disposal facilities of the mobile establishment must be of a different size or type than those used for supplying potable water to the mobile establishment, and
- The waste connection must be located lower than the water inlet connection to prevent contamination.

#### **FORMS**

All forms mentioned previously are required at temporary events or in mobile vehicles.